« Back to Events

A Mere 35 Years…

iCal Import
April 10, 2011 3:00 pm
April 10, 2011 6:00 pm
Smithsonian American Art Museum
F St NW, Washington, DC, United States, 20004

Sunday, April 10, 2011
3:00 pm

FREE, but Ticketed
Smithsonian American Art Museum View Map
part of the Steinway Series

Francis Poulenc
Sonata for Oboe and Piano (1962)
Alfred Schnittke
Piano Quintet (1976)
Sergei Prokofiev
String Quartet No. 2 (1941) on Kabardinian Themes

A mere thirty-five years separate these three commemorations, yet the works are light years apart. Poulenc, ever ready to befriend, pays tribute to Prokofiev in this, his beautifully poignant last work. Prokofiev and Schnittke shared the oppression of the Soviet totalitarian regime, yet ironically, Prokofiev’s second quartet is inspired by the folk melodies of the remote area to which he and other elite citizens were evacuated by the government as Hitler’s armies approached Moscow. Schnittke’s starkly minimalist quintet grapples with the difficulties of acknowledging his mother’s death due to stroke, the same malady that later caused his demise. The Left Bank Quartet welcomes the collaborations of oboist Mark Hill and pianist Audrey Andrist.

Program Notes